*UAE Lifts Ban on Transit Passengers*
August 4, 2021 3:52 Am
The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has lifted the traveling suspension on residents of the country returning from Nigeria and five other countries.
Other countries with exemptions are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Uganda.
Authorities in the Arab country, according to an agency report, announced that the suspension would be lifted from Thursday, August 5.
The report stated that travelers must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and hold valid UAE residency permits, with at least 14 days passing after the second vaccine dose was received and they must also hold a certificate to this effect.
The report said this was among a string of exemptions announced by the UAE’s National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Management Authority (NCEMA).
The report revealed that those previously exempted were citizens of the UAE and their first-degree relatives; diplomatic personnel between the UAE and the applicable countries, including administrative workers; official delegations, subject to obtaining prior approval; Expo 2020 international participants and exhibitors; and personnel sponsored by its organiser.
Other were UAE residents with gold or silver residency permit; crews of cargo and transit flights of foreign companies; businessmen and businesswomen, provided they hold an approval from the General Authority for the Security of Ports, Borders and Free Zones, and heads of higher committees of the emergency, crisis and disaster management teams of the Emirate concerned; employees belonging to vital functions according to the classification of the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship.