Benue Assembly to commence screening of commissioner-nominees Thursday

Benue State Governor, Rev Fr Hyacinth Alia, on Tuesday, released the list of Commissioner nominees, Special Advisers and Special Assistants.

Recall that the opposition Peoples Democratic Party in the state had accused the governor of breaching the constitution by not sending names of his commissioner nominees to the state assembly within the stipulated 60 days.

The state publicity secretary of PDP, Bemgba Iortyom, in a statement issued last week, said, “By the provisions of Section 147 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended by the Fifth Alteration No. 23 of 2023) the Governor of Benue State is under mandatory obligation of law to submit names of nominees for screening and confirmation as commissioners to be appointed into his cabinet within 60 days of his taking oath of office.

However, the ruling All Progressive Congress through its publicity secretary, Daniel Ihomun dismissed the claim of the opposition party and said that the governor met the deadline for the submission of names of commissioner nominees to the assembly.

The governor through his Chief Press Secretary, Kula Tersoo, has now released the names of 17 Commissioner nominees sent to the state assembly.

The Press Secretary to the Speaker, Raphael Akume, in a statement posted on his verified Facebook page also acknowledged the names of 17 commissioners sent to the assembly.

Akume said, “Speaker of the Benue State House of Assembly, Aondona Dajoh today (Tuesday) at plenary read a letter from the Governor of Benue state, Rev. Fr. Hyacinth Alia conveying three additional names for commissioners nominees.

He said that the house will begin its screening of Commissioner nominees on Thursday 10th August by 10 am.

The statement by the governor’s aide included 17 Commissioner nominees, 17 Special Advisers and 24 Special Assistants.

The list of commissioner nominees are; Joyce Luga – Gboko, Barr. Omale Omale Apa, Dr. Yanmar M. Ortese – Guma, Rev. Dr. Frederick Ikyaan – Gwer-West, Ugwu Odoh – Ogbadibo, Kwaghba Amande – Katsina-Ala, Matthew Aboh – Ukum, Tiza – Imojime Buruku and
Aondowase Kunde – Konshisha

Others include, Prof. Jonah Ogbaji – Oju, Martin Shaager – Ushongo, Michael Oglegba – Otukpo, Ann Itodo – Okpokwu, Fidelis Mnyim – Makurdi, Terkimbi Ikyange – Ushongo, Alumo Orpin – Tarka and Nick Eworo- Obi.

Names of Special Advisers are; Arc. Eric Adikwu, Alex Adingi, Dr. Kaalu Akerkpev, Terngu Gwanger, Mercy Nyamkyume, Dr. Aondona Mkor, Joe Har, Denis Akura andBenedict Akombo.

Others include; Fidelis Unongo, Iyoo Gbondo, Prince Ugese Orshi, Sam Yua, Mark Ochoga, Peter Ogilagwu, Yusuf Suleiman Elaigwu and Scholastica T. Awuhe Ben-Sor.

The Special Assistants are; Simeon Yongo, Julie Obeta, Jonathan Lahave, Idris Ojigbiri, Zipporah Adzege, David Sixtus Agbanyi, Michael Mfater Kaha (El-Stuffy, Sunday Shizum and Dennis Umbur.

Others are; Harris Tersoo, Linda Ene Agada, Dorcas Faerem, Member Achihi Dekera,Chief Isaac Edo Onwu,Akaa Manasseh,Ordue Uyoo, Tertseagh Afere, Apeku Marshall and Richard Dzugweve.

Among them are; Christiana Sana, Stone Eje Eyikwaje, Paul Vershima Ishom, Sunday Ekas and Francis S. Emeor.

READ ALSO: Bandits Kingpins beg for amnesty amidst consistent air raids