PSC appoints Tolani CP Bayelsa State Command, Lawal CP Borno State Command

The Police Service Commission (PSC) on Monday approved the appointment of new Commissioners of Police for Bayelsa State Police Command and Borno states Police Command.

The new Commissioners of Police are Alausa Hakeem Tolani for Bayelsa State, and Yusuf Mohammed Lawal for Borno State.

The PSC spokesperson, Ikechukwu Ani, who made this known in a statement issued on Monday, July 10, 2023, said the commission approved the appointments at its ongoing 21st plenary meeting in Abuja.

Ani quoted the PSC Chairman, Dr Solomon Arase, as urging the new commissioners to ensure that the vision of President Bola Tinubu for improved national security is accorded the required attention.

Arase, a former Inspector-General of Police (IGP), said the war against terror and terrorism in Nigeria must be won, calling on state Command Commissioners to strategise and take over the public space currently being distorted by non-state actors.

He noted that the PSC will continue to create the enabling environment for police officers to give their best, adding that the security of Nigeria and Nigerians must remain a priority for national growth.