We’ll stop cash and carry issue in civil service – FCSC Chairman

Chairman of Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC), Tunji Olaopa

The Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC) will stop the practice of cash and carry in appointment and promotion of civil servants in the country.

FCSC Chairman, Prof. Tunji Olaopa, disclosed this to newsmen after their inauguration by President Bola Tinubu at the Presidential Villa on Wednesday in Abuja.

He said that 12-member board of the commission would ensure that the Renewed Hope Agenda of the President would be a guide in dispensing their duties to Nigerian civil service.

Olaopa said the commission would rebrand the civil service to become the spotlight of integrity and efficiency.

‘’The allegations of job racketeering is very disturbing. The commission, by its conception, is supposed to be a beacon of integrity and those that founded the commission in the glorious days of the service gave the civil service great name.

‘’So, I am disturbed by the whole cash and carry reputation at the commission and we will do everything possible in collaboration with some of the intelligence and security agencies to make a few scape goats.

‘’We will communicate a new face for the civil service commission. That will be our first charge and we will all be committed to bring back institutional values to the public service of Nigeria,’’ he said.

Olaopa said the new board would reposition the civil service as well as beef up its capability and efficiency for better service delivery to the people.

‘’We need to modernise and deploy technology, re-institute professionalism, we need to move the civil service to a position where it could help the government deliver and that we are poised to be able to do.

‘’We want a commission that promotes cherished value of the public service in everything that it does.’’

A member of the FCSC in charge of Niger and Federal Capital Territory, Dr Husseini Adamu, told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) that the new members are ready to swing into action to make the service more effective.

‘’We have a crop of seasoned technocrats and administrators on the board that will deliver on the administration’s Renewed Hope Agenda. We will deploy our vast and diverse experience to make the service the pride of government,’’ Adamu said.

He pledged to also serve the interest of all Nigerians, especially those from Niger and FCT whom he represents.

The newly appointed 12 members of the commission are Prof. Tunji Olaopa – Chairman; Dr Daudu Jalo, Obong Ededet Eyoma, Shehu Aliyu, Festus Oyebade and Dr Chamberlain Nweke.

Others are Dr Adamu Hussein; Rufus Godwin, Aminu Nabegu, Hindatu Abdullahi, Odekunle Aduke and Princess Sarah Sosan. (NAN)