Just In: Senator Akpabio Emerges New Senate President

Godswill Akpabio, a former Niger Delta minister and governor of Akwa Ibom State, has been elected as the 10th Senate President of the National Assembly.

Abdulaziz Yari was defeated by Akpabio, the All Progressives Congress’s chosen candidate, to succeed Ahmed Lawan 

.Voting began at exactly 08:45 am on a state-by-state basis, alphabetically.

Voting ended at exactly 09:15 am.

On the Senate floor on Tuesday, senators-elect overwhelmingly supported Akpabio.

The former Governor of Akwa Ibom served as a Minister for Niger Delta Affairs from 2019 to 2022, represents Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial zone