New service chiefs assumed duties

The new service chiefs : Chief of Defence Staff, CDS, Major General Christopher Musa , Chief of Army Staff, COAS Major General Taoreed Lagbaja and Chief of Naval Staff,CNS, Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla on Friday June 23, 2023 assumed duties in their respective offices.

The new Chief of the Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Hassan Abubakar and the Acting Inspector General of Police IGP, Abiodun Egbetokun had assumed duty on Thursday,June 22 , 2023 and June 21,2023 respectively.

In colourful parades held at their separate headquarters in Abuja the new service chiefs physically took over the headship of their military establishments and the police .

While Major General Christopher Musa succeeds former CDS General Lucky Irabor, Major General Lagbaja took over from former CAOS Lieutenant General Faruk Yahaya.

Former CNS Vice Admiral Awwal Gambo handed over to Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla while former CAS Air Marshal Oladayo Amao gave the pattern to Air Vice Marshal Hassan Abubakar.

They took over also a major security challenge that their predecessors were unable to find solution to, the ongoing insurgents by Boko Haram and the encroachment or attempts by the Islamic State West Africa Province, ISWAP, to establish strong holds in the country.

This war had drag on since 2008, with succeeding service chiefs pledging to end it.The promises have not been kept neither is the envisage peace secured .

Therefore the first and foremost task , the Service Chiefs have is not to allow the state of insecurity in the country to degenerate . Second to work harder than their predecessors to end the insurgency.

Nigerians are craving for peace and developments and not unfulfilled promises.