Tribunal sacks three Abia LP Reps members


Three members of the House of Representatives, Ibe Okwara Osonwa, Emeka Nnamani and Munachim Alozie, all of the Labour Party (LP), have been sacked from the National Assembly by the National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Umuahia.

They were removed on Monday, September 11, after the tribunal agreed with the arguments presented by the petitioners.

Ibe Okwara Osonwa, who represents Arochukwu/ Ohafia Federal Constituency on the platform of LP, was removed from the House by the tribunal, led by Justice Adeyinka Adegberegbe, which ruled that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Daniel Chimezie Okeke, was able to prove his petition that the election of Osonwa did not comply with the rule of law.

The tribunal, therefore, declared the APC candidate, Daniel Chimezie Okeke as the winner and ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw the certificate of return issued to Ibe Okwara Osonwa and a fresh one should be given to Okeke of APC.

Also, the member representing Aba North/Aba South Federal Constituency, Emeka Nnamani was sacked from the Green Chambers and Alex Mascot of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) was declared as the winner.

In its ruling, the tribunal agreed with the petition brought before it by Alex Mascot of APGA, where the petitioner raised questions concerning the academic qualifications of Emeka Nnamani.

In Osisioma/Obingwa/Ugwunagbo Federal Constituency, the victory of Munachim Alozie of the Labour Party (LP) was nullified by the election tribunal, which also ordered that a re-run election be conducted by INEC within 90 days.

The tribunal ruled that the margin of victory held by Munachim Alozie was too narrow compared with the number of disenfranchised voters during the February 25 election.